Saturday, December 3, 2016

Meeting # 800 in the park

The choice to choose between waking up early on a rainy Saturday morning to attend a toastmasters meeting or to sleep in was an easy decision to make.

Despite the heavy rain, the risk of being struck by a lightning bolt or drowning in a flood, it was a spirited turn out. At TMIKL, whether it is rain or shine, the show must go on. 

We even had a guest Kazuhisa Hirano, all the way from Japan, who found out about our meeting via This is a testament that besides making you a better leader and communicator, Toastmasters International also helps you to connect people from around the world.

Thank you friends of TMIKL, Gabriel Chong, Justin Jesunathan, & Intan Nurshiela & Ikram for gracing the meeting. All of you gave up your Saturday morning to be with us, we couldn't be more thankful because you guys are definitely our sunshine after the rain!

The best thing about the rain is the rainbow that appears afterwards, the best thing about a toastmasters meeting is the extra motivation to be a better speaker.

Hopefully we can have more meetings like this in the future, minus the chaos. A big thank you to all who attended meeting #800, because you made it happen! 


Tuesday, November 22, 2016

The fearless Jony Lim

Jony Lim
Once in a while we get members who defy all odds, breaking speed record en-route to attaining the Competent Communicator goal. Some people are just born sprinters, Jony did it in less than one year! Which makes him the second fastest, just behind Ceyvian Chan in getting Competent Communicator title in TMIKL.

Jony came into TMIKL as a rough diamond, but underneath the rough edges, the dazzling bright glitters are just waiting for time to sparkle. He wowed us with his ice breaker speech on 28th July 2015 in high spirit, high volume, and highly charged body language. I must say this is the power of youth.

Over time, senior members at TMIKL helped Jony to become a more technical speakers, sticking to the objectives of the CC manual to bring out the best in how he crafted his speech, how to amplify his stage presence through vocal variety, body language, different approaches to engage the audience.

In his speech #10 on 28th June 2016,  Nelson Mandela was his reference for inspirations.

"I learned that courage was not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it. The brave man is not he who does not feel afraid, but he who conquers that fear."

Those words quoted from Nelson Mandela is the reflection of our fearless Jony Lim! Our best wishes to you, good luck in your studies, all the best over there in US of A!

Thursday, November 17, 2016

Welcome to the CC club, Nik Ayman!

Picture taken from Facebook

TMIKL is very proud to produce yet another quality CC on 25th October 2016.

Can we hear many rounds of ear-piercing applause👏👏👏 for Nik Ayman to congratulate him for completing his inspirational project speech #10. In fact, he deserves nothing less than a standing ovation.

Nik Ayman's toastmasters journey started back in 8th October 2013. He progressed on his own pace, he has only himself to beat. It took awhile, but slowly and surely, he reached the 1st check point of the lifelong Toastmasters' marathon on 25th October 2016.

Speech #10 was a showcase of how far he came along in this Toastmasters journey. And he did it in style by winning the best project speech speaker of the day!

My admiration for CC Nik Ayman is in his calm demeanor when delivering speeches. He always have the interest of his audience in mind, as speeches always catch up with the current affairs. He keeps his poker face when delivering a joke and the punch line always knock you out like a brick hitting you in the face from no where. You totally never expected that.

Nik Ayman, our best wishes to you, now it is the time to find your niche and decide which advanced communicator manual you would like to use.

May you go strength to strength, at the same time, inspire more of our members to achieve their CC goal too!

We at TMIKL will continue to witness your growth in communication and leadership skills. Our best wishes to you. Congratulations again!

Nik Ayman receiving his CC award

Sunday, November 13, 2016

Next Meeting 28th November 2016

It's almost curtain call for 2016. Time of the year again to mourn your losses, what-ifs, near misses or lament about one who got away.

Of course the mood doesn't have to be this somber, because why cried over split milk when you can buy a new one?

You can still indulge in the current moment, count you blessings, celebrate your successes, express your gratitude for loved ones or reminisce on all your efforts to make the world a better place than it was in 2015.

Newly minted CC, Nik Ayman will take control of the meeting on 22th November 2016, Tuesday, 7p.m onwards.

Come celebrate with us, for the 1st timer, who knows your 1st meeting at TMIKL would be your destiny for a changed life!

Wednesday, August 24, 2016

TMIKL Meeting 13-9-2016

Our Next meeting is as follows:
Tuesday 13-9-2016 from 19:30

TME: Ceyvian Chan, CC
TTM: Kimberly Teh



1st Speaker
Kai Xuan Wong
Competent Communication Manual #1 - The Ice Breaker
(4:00-6:00 min)

2nd Speaker
Razwan Rashidi 
Competent Communication Manual #6 - Vocal Variety
(5:00-7:00 min)

3rd Speaker
Ismail Omar,
The Three Ages of Man  Edit
Competent Communication Manual #10 - Inspire Your Audience
(8:00-10:00 min)

4th Speaker
Rajesh Wadhwani 
Nothing Funny about being Funny  Edit
The Entertaining Speaker (2011) #2 - Resources for Entertainment
(5:00-7:00 min)
Draw entertaining material from sources other than your own pesonal experience; Adapt your material to suit your topic, your own personality, and the audience.

4th Speaker


Monday, August 1, 2016

Humorous Speech & Speech Evaluation Contests: 23-8-16

Our Humorous Speech & Evaluation Contests
Tuesday: 23-8-2016
Venue: Level 21 Bankers Club  

Organising Chair: Kimberly Teh
Chief Judge: Lakhmichand M A, DTM

Humorous Speech:
Contest Chair: Victor Ong, DTM
  1. Jeremy Teo
  2. Endrea Hugh
  3. Lim Yi Kang   
Evaluation Contests:
Contest Chair: Jesse Tan
  1. Lim Yikang
  2. Richard Toh
  3. Endrea Hugh
  4. Jeremy Teo
  1. Nik M Zaki, CC, ALB
  2. Edwin Leong
Ballot Counters:
  1. Rhoda Omar, ACB, ALB
  2. Kanagaraj Pillay, ACB, ALB
  1. Nik Ayman
  2. Anthony de Souza, CC. CL
Winner of Humorous Speech Contest 2016: Jeremy Teo
Winner of Speech Evaluation Contest 2016: Lim Yi Kang
1st Runner Up, Speech Evaluation Contest 2016: Richard Toh
Congratulations to all winners and Thank you all for attending!
Our diligent and focused timers
Anthony De Souza (left), Nik Ayman (right)

Winner and 1st Runner up of Speech Evaluation Contest 2016
Lim Yi Kang (second from left), Richard Toh (first from right)
Winner of Humorous Speech Contest 2016, Jeremy Teo

Sunday, July 31, 2016

Meeting # 793 on 9th August 2016 (Tuesday)

THEME: Citius, Altius, Fortius“ (Latin for "Faster, Higher, Stronger’’) 
Word of The Day: INDOMINABLE

They say the most important thing in the Olympic Games is not winning but taking part. Sometimes, you just got to take the first step even though you can’t see the entire staircase, and in TMIKL Toastmasters club we encourage you to take your first step, to be a better, and stronger speaker, bringing you to greater heights. Remember, active participation is important, no matter the results. It is the attitude, effort, process that counts. 

SAA: Nik Ayman
President: Ismail Omar, DTM
TME: Richard, CC
TTM: Kimberly Teh
Timer: Razwan 

Grammarian: Anthony

Ismail Omar, Easy speak 
Rhoda Omar ACM #5
Rajesh Wadhwani ACB, ACM
Speech Evaluators:
Cyril Jonas, DTM
Yikang Lim, CC, CL